Cinematography 2 – SA1/2

Cinematography Piece.

we were given a unit to produce and shoot a 2 minute long cinematography piece.

As we had to use black magic cinema cameras we had to show a range of different techniques, Such as:
– Focus pulling –
Depth of field (perspective, shallow, deep, occlusion)
– Movement (Tracking, parallax, handheld, dolly)
– Considered Framing ( thirds, quadrants)
– considered colour palette (clothing, lighting, background)
– lighting ( available, additive, subtractive, reflected)
– Exposing to the right (ETTR)

in photography and optics, a neutral density filter orND filter is a filter that reduces or modifies the intensity of all wavelengths or colors of light equally, giving no changes in hue of colour rendition. It can be a colorless (clear) or grey filter.

A waveform is the shape and form of a signal such as a wave moving in a physical medium or an abstract representation. In many cases the medium in which the wave is being propagated does not permit a direct visual image of the form.

In our films we had to also involve inverse square law this  the way light hits a surface depending on the distance between the light and the object. With this if the object is further away it wont be as bright! We tested this using a subject.
photoshop-evidence Field0001 Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 09.29.26 Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 09.29.35 Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 09.29.59 Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 09.29.50 ansel_adams_zones_system

In this arrangement of images I have shown the use of different light in different settings and the use of GOBOS.

 

My refilmed film is a dark shaded film about stalking.

I had previously asked if I could use a BMCC pocket and a wide lense as I felt it would work perfectly with the locations I had planned and my story.

Unfortunately I couldn’t get the needed equipment due to emails not being read. This meant receiving the wrong equipment.

During my filming I had an issue of the lense not being wide enough,  I however worked around this.

During my editing it found it difficult to colour grade after my whites blew out! With no time to re do it I just went with it.
With doing the film on my own j felt like I could of done with the help, but I also feel like the film went okay.

With little equipment I felt the lighting should be better but I went around this by ensuring I was filming two stops to the right

PLANNING:

I planned to film in a location that was outside for most of my shots but without the right lense I chose to do inside filming.

DAY ONE:
I used the loction of a house to show deifferent lighting, Using different angles to show a certain eerieness to the shots.
with the choice of sound for a film like this being minimal I used a freesound from (freesound,org) labelled (horror music, genwing)

During my film I would of done alot of things different but because I filmed on my own (due to no assistance avaliable) it was very constricting.
I didn’t include a focus pull due to lack of help which i would of wanted in there.
During my edit i realised i possibly hadn’t filmed enough, So i chose to add infills and voiceovers, another issue was i didnt have the extra voiceover i wanted due to being let down last minute for both the plan and back up plan.

I enjoyed the story but would of liked a more informative story, as i feel my story doesnt quite get the point across.

I noticed after filming i had continuity when it came to filming on a table, I would go back and fix that at a later date.

Having filmed on my own and missing an actor i Had to step in but set the camera on a tripod and left it be, which i felt worked okay
During editing I filmed in secenque so I didnt have to place the shots in order, that worked well when it came to editing which i planned before filming,

I would like some feedback to ensure how i felt about the film which is where I will add here:

Having used a blackmagic camera and editing on premier i felt it worked well and during the editing process i felt filming in sequence definitely helped.

My first draft of editing became 3 minutes long, which was difficult to cut to 2 minutes and get the story across, Within 2 minutes I got the scenes in that I wanted and finished it on exactly 2 minutes.

Having 2 minutes for a story is difficult and does take alot of planning, with more planning I could of hit 2 minutes in my first draft, The difficult part of editing is going under or over the given time.

With the different angles used I wanted to ensure I got a creepy feel; In this i felt I achieved that in a shot where the male is looking at a page, I chose to use an over the shoulder shot and including a side of head shot, The only issues I felt I had with angles is not viewing everything, especially in the phone selection, i also miss judged the focus involved but still feel it worked perfectly fine.

Including shots with cars was difficult with a smaller angle lense but felt ikt still worked okay, Including focus.

During the edit I felt i elongagted some of the “pointless” shots and it dragged on, but worked well with the music timing.

I felt I learnt alot about angles that I could use involving my next pieces.

Leave a Reply

